skip navigation

The First Annual Elite Hockey Banquet

By EHA, 03/10/22, 1:30PM EST


March 10th, 2022 - Last night the Elite Hockey Academy hosted the first annual Elite Hockey Banquet at Amarante’s Sea Cliff in New Haven. It was an amazing event with over 210 people from our organization in attendance.

This event had the goal of bringing everyone together to celebrate and recognize the players, coaches and a memorable season.

Some Special Awards were handed out including Most Improved from each team, Student of the Year, Coach of the Year and the Collin Burke Memorial Award.


Most Improved Players:

These players were honored for their work ethic, determination and positive attitude in improving their hockey skills and abilities over the course of the year.

Mites: Jayden Jackson
Squirt Minor: Michael Brockett
Squirt Major: Evan Howard
13U: Taggart Trado
14U: Jason Backman
16U: Cooper Caby
18U: Brendan Leung


Coach of the Year: Billy Demetriades

The coach of the year award was presented to Billy Demetriades who has made an outstanding impact at the Elite Hockey Academy.  Billy enjoys building the lasting relationships with the players that are created through coaching. He builds confidence in the athletes and helps them see themselves in a positive light, where every member of the team has value, regardless of strengths and weaknesses. He takes the time to go around the room, and have a brief, personal interaction with each player, letting them know they are important to the coach and achieving the team’s common goals.  We are truly the lucky ones to have Billy with the Elite Hockey Academy! Congratulations Billy!

Student of the Year: 

18U: Jake Lindstrom
16U: Charlie Vincent

We have a strong hockey culture at Elite Hockey Academy and with the partnership of Notre Dame of West Haven we have also been fortunate to provide a strong foundation of academics and attract hockey players from all over the world. We also recognized the academic success as a whole, as the 18U team maintained an overall average of 87% and the 16U team 91%.


Collin Burke Memorial Award: Brett Cleaves

The 2022 Collin Burke award is an annual award that is given to an outstanding player and person within the Elite Hockey Academy.  The Collin Burke award was given to 18U Goaltender, Brett Cleaves, a player; who distinguishes himself both on-and-off the ice by demonstrating outstanding character, passion, pride and determination.

Collin F. Burke of Hamden passed away suddenly on August 29, 2020. Collin developed a passion for hockey at a very young age. He was an avid goalie during his youth hockey career and throughout high school. Collin turned his passion for hockey into a career working for ProCrease where he was able to share his talents and pass on his love of the sport to many children around the state. Collin is survived by his parents Andrew and Elyse Burke and his brother Gavin. The bond that Collin and Gavin shared was unbreakable, they enjoyed talking about sports and spending time together. Collin was an amazing role model to not only his brother but to all of the children that knew him. Collin will be remembered for his compassionate spirit, ability to bring people together, love of music and his impeccable style.